Pan Is Beautiful XII – Soloist & Ensemble Results

The first two, finals of the National Steelband Music Festival; Pan Is Beautiful XII, was held on Friday 8th of November, at National Academy for the Performing Arts (Napa), in Port-of-Spain.

Golden Hands, one of Trinidad & Tobago’s premier youth steel orchestras, struck gold twice. Scoring 542 points in the ensembles category, they won the championship trophy and $100,000 first prize with their tune of choice, Michael Jackson’s Earth Song and the test piece, Respect The Steelband, written by Black Stalin (Dr Leroy Calliste). In the Soloists category, Golden Hands’ tenor player, Joshua Jabari Bedeau’s interpretation of, Vanessa Alexandra Headley’s composition Call Me Hero, was awarded a top score of 280 points and the $10,000 first prize.

Only one point separated Petrotrin Hatters and the champions. Their presentation of the test piece and tune of choice, The Renewal, composed, adapted and conducted by Dr Jeannine Remy, earned the group a combined total of 541 points and $75,000 prize.

Defending champion, Stryke Stars, secured third place and $65,000. They scored 523 points for with their interpretations of the test piece and tune of choice, Journey To The Promise Land, ccomposed by Kenneth Guppy.

The other placings in Ensemble category were as follows:

Fourth place, Fusion Steel, Play Mr Pannist , 520 points.
Fifth place, Success Stars Gems, Pan In A Minor, 517 points.
Sixth place, Longdenville Claytones, playing Nat “King” Cole’s  – Tenderly, 502 points.

On the panel for the Ensembles category were Lambert Phillip, Merle Albino-DeCoteau, Michelle Huggins-Watts and Joslynne Sealey.

Other placings in the Soloists category were as follows:

Second,Keisha Codrington, Pan In Harmony, 278 points
Third, Khari Codrington, Pan Night and Day, 267 points
Fourth, Avery Attzs, Caught In A Loop, 260 points
Fifth, Kern Summerville, Rainorama, 255 points
Sixth, Anthony Phillip, Life At La Paix Road, 252 points
Seventh, Dachelle Morrison, Fiddle Faddle, 246 points
Meagann Taitt, Written In August, 245 points

Judges for the Soloists category were Dr Anne Marion Osbourne, Michelle Huggins-Watts, Mia Gormandy and Joslynne Sealey.

web twitter facebook emailfacebook


About Ramajay iRadio

Ramajay iRadio, promoting Soca, Calypso, RapSo, Raga, Chutney Soca, Bashment, Zouk, Bouyon, Caribbean style carnival and Trinidad & Tobago culture, in the North of England and Europe. Visit our website for details
This entry was posted in Artist, Culture, News, Pan, Steelband, Trinidad And Tobago and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s